A Day in the Life

After nearly 20 years in the classroom and new adoptions for the preceding several semesters it becomes obvious that no amount of standing on my head (or textbook substitution) will make a dent in students’ motivation and accountability for their learning.

I use trade paperbacks in their entirety (how retro of me, I know) in my World and Migrant Lit courses. I simply grew tired of hearing “the book hasn’t arrived” or, “financial aid didn’t come through in time to get the reading done”, or “I can’t access the link”, or “my computer / internet connection isn’t working”.

The above paragraphs were sent in response to an etext publisher’s query regarding my decision to discontinue adoption of a text I’d previously used. This is the price of progress to date. Can we call it choice fatigue? We have so many options, formats, customizations and yet none the equivalent a silver bullet to kill the two-headed monster of entitlement and indifference that seems to swallow learners bodily.

Leave a Reply

