Consequences of Unconfessed Sin

Women’s Ministry, led by Sister Dr. Mary L. House, met before Bible Study last night and gave us homework. We were invited to study Hagar’s story, respond to the questions on a handout regarding past hurts, confess and pray. As I took a first pass at the exercise this morning, I was shaken by my answers to the question regarding consequences of unconfessed sins. Feel free to add to this list.

  • Repeat offenses
  • Stalled growth
  • Restlessness
  • Depression
  • Failure to thrive and prosper
  • Barreness
  • Limited thinking
  • Unharvested fruit
  • Fear
  • Loss
  • Bad choices
  • Distance in relationship to Jesus

But thanks to His grace and mercy, all such things can lead to brokenheartedness that leads to new relationship with Jesus! Oswald Chambers reminds us that while obeying Jesus is our spiritual destiny fulfilling it is our choice. Mind the gap between the “If…” of Luke 9:23 and John 14:15.

The Lord does not give me rules, He makes His standard very clear, and if my relationship to Him is that of love, I will do what He says without any hesitation. If I hesitate, it is because I love some one else in competition with Him, viz., myself. Jesus Christ will not help me to obey Him, I must obey Him; and when I do obey Him, I fulfil my spiritual destiny. Oswald Chambers

Dayenu.

Leave a Reply

