Image

Day 2 NaNoWriMo

After class today I decided to record notes instead of blog as I’d gone back to bed after 5 a.m. prayer instead of going to the gym or putting in my 30 minutes for NaNoWriMo. The last paragraph of those notes is pasted below.

The current wrestling match is to focus on whatsoever things are of good report instead of focusing on what’s NOT happening in class. Team Miracle did a wonderful job, miraculous in many ways given the team’s composition and the assignment – to teach one course objective, one of Stephen Covey’s 7 Habits, one chapter out of the textbook, one section from MyCompLab and one experience of Service Learning. The division of labor was evident. The interactivity and creativity were present. They had information and or activities related to each assigned lesson as well as helpful hints and mnemonic devices for remembering homonyms. They brought candy and a prize for the raffle conducted after the quiz. How, in such an environment ripe for harvest did I allow the last 15 minutes of Q & A regarding the Spaghetti Edit / Revised Midterm to sour the experience for me?

Indeed, it comes down to preparation – mine, and not just for Friday’s faculty retreat which I am co-facilitating, but for the next level of spiritual growth in which we are to cast down spiritual wickedness in high places. Shadows be damned. I am a child of the Light!

What if I just went up in praise when these feelings of defeat rise so fitfully. What if I just started turning my gratitude key and followed that logic. What if I just slept when I was tired, learned to tell when I’m hungry or emptied by despair, and ate the right thing at the right time? 1006 words for now.

Fortunately for me I had the answer before the question posed itself. At prayer this morning Evangelist offered Luke 21 as encouragement. Only late this afternoon was I able to read it. The verses particularly helpful to me are:

34“Be careful, or your hearts will be weighed down with dissipation, drunkenness and the anxieties of life, and that day will close on you unexpectedly like a trap. 35For it will come upon all those who live on the face of the whole earth. 36Be always on the watch, and pray that you may be able to escape all that is about to happen, and that you may be able to stand before the Son of Man.”

I believe I will. Continue to stand, that is.

Leave a Reply

