Pray the Devil Back to Hell Reprise

In preparation for a retreat in celebration of teaching, I google those words and meet again The Honourable Leymah Gbowee who was among the winners of the 2011 Nobel Peace Prize and gave a talk at the Conference in Celebration of Teaching and Learning. PBS has created a series of lessons on the non-violent protests of women around the world including those that led to the end of civil war in Liberia in 2003.

It is no surprise to me that this is the task I begin with this morning. Rather, it is no surprise that at Intercessory Prayer this morning I was struck by the woman next to me who, when asked to lift up prayer on behalf of the sick and bereaved, boldly prayed demons back to the pit of hell. In short, her prayer was an answer to mine for holy boldness. I love the continued state of awe and wonder in which Our Father holds and keeps me.

Leave a Reply

