T-Mobile System Error?

A prefatory note for context’s sake:

A few months back I terminated my out of contract post-paid T-Mobile service because my bill changed every month despite the fact that my phone usage did not. Why, after all, would one want to pay upwards of $200 for two lines on an unlimited family plan when $110 for two unlimited everything plus international talk and text (though not to the darker skinned nations – Japan yes, Jamaica no) is included on one line.

So I go to pay my prepaid bill in a T-Mobile store this weekend and am told to check back later as the system is down. I go to another location later in the day and succeed because a representative enters the information manually. Payment confirmed, I leave with a sense of mission accomplished. I get a text message confirming the account status and go happily about my business until this morning. I attempt to call my husband’s doctor and receive an automated message saying that this type of call is not permitted. Three reps and 35 minutes later I am told that my account was suspended because I was charged for an international photo text sometime between when the account status was updated and the bill was paid. Who knew State College Pennsylvania was a foreign country! I bring that detail to the attention of Rep #2 along with a reminder that I have an unlimited talk, text, data and international plan and am assured all has been restored – including the 25 cent fee for the incorrectly labeled international text that started the mayhem. I proceed with my workout at the gym. Timing is everything.

Leaving the gym I check my phone to find the following two texts from T-Mobile. The first arrived at 8:24 a.m., the second at 9:37 a.m.

Free T-Mobile Msg: Great news, your Monthly Plan has been paid & renewed for another 30 days effective 10/18/2011. Plan good through 11/17/2011.

Free T-Mobile Msg: Due to insufficient balance, your plan is inactive. Apply a refill to renew your Monthly Plan. Visit http://My.T-Mobile.com for plan details.

What do you make of it? I invite anyone else caught in the confusion of Sunday’s system error to comment.

Leave a Reply

