Enter, A New Semester

A friend of 20+ years, and colleague for the most recent two, albeit at a different institution, asked me how I came up with the ideas I use to design curricula or introduce a new semester. I tried to explain that I ask God and He answers. For some reason that answer didn’t seem as simple and direct to her as it did to me so I elaborated.

Sometimes, before I go to sleep at night,  I tell the Lord what I’m thinking about, puzzling over, hoping to muddle through, and in the morning when I wake up, or sometime later in the day or week, an idea presents itself and I use it.

Or at least I believe I said something along those lines and then emailed her my syllabus, a discussion board from the most recent semester with open-ended instructions and a rubric for how I graded one of the standing assignments in each class, the Legacy. This last assignment, considered a capstone essay, is a 500-word letter to the next class detailing how each student learned what s/he believe s/he learned along with samples in an ePortfolio in support of their claims for having mastered the various course objectives. Gratefully, ideas come like manna from heaven and have done so for the past 20 or so years.

Leave a Reply

