Adult Christian Education

It fell to me to present today’s lesson on obedience, “The Subject No One Wants to Talk About”. When the date had been assigned I had no idea that my favorite scripture would be part of the foundation for the class.

Truly I say to you, He who puts his faith in me will do the very works which I do, and he will do greater things than these, because I am going to my Father.

I was up into the wee hours preparing as my weeks of good intentions fell short. As I’m out of black ink at home (having recently replaced two color cartridges), I was unable to print my notes and order of activities but forgot to ask to print once I arrived at church for the early service. Later efforts to print at the MRC were frustrated for lack of a password, so I had to go with what Jesus called to my remembrance and the few specifics related to the introduction, group work and reflections I’d scribbled on a page while planning last night.

Happily I’d used the same page to take notes during Bishop‘s breathtaking message about being a Transporter. Truly, the tenderness of that teaching is unsurpassed. I do love the new direction we are taking and feel the sincere collaborative efforts to saturate the learning from pre-praise and worship quiet time and 1st Wednesday’s Men’s Prayers, to  dance ministry’s dramatizations, and the increasingly inclusive or tag-team teaching and prophetic prayers we were blessed with during this morning’s 8 a.m. service.

By the time I reached the combined classroom -after reserving my place at the Women’s Ministry’s upcoming Purple Party – I remembered the gist of what I’d planned to do with small groups and followed the Holy Ghost in another direction than anticipated for the introduction to the lesson. When I’d set up the silent poll about which of the six benefits of obedience individuals would give up if required to do so, it fell on my spirit to share the part of my testimony that deals with deliverance from a spirit of resignation after the death of my younger sister when I was four and a half. From there we moved to an analysis of the pattern for prayer given in The Lord’s Prayer in order that the small groups would be able to write prayers of intercession on behalf of one of the four types of believers discussed in the lesson for one of the six benefits of obedience.

What follows is more or less a reconstruction, line by line, of what was generated by members of the class and captured on the white board.

  • Salutation: Acknowledgement of the Source of all answered prayers: Our Father which art in heaven
  • Acknowledgement of God’s power: Hallowed be thy name
  • The request, spoken in the prophetic present, as if it were already done: Thy kingdom come. Thy will be done, as in heaven, so in earth.
  • The petition restated, evidence of diligence, importunity: Give us day by day our daily bread.
  • Prerequisite – Repentance coupled with the humility: And forgive us our sins; for we also forgive every one that is indebted to us
  • Specific statement of what this prayer seeks to avoid or bind: And lead us not into temptation;
  • Specific statement of what this prayer seeks to loose  but deliver us from evil
  • Acknowledgement of answered prayer, thanksgiving: For thine is the kingdom, and the power, and the glory, for ever. Amen

Now, I ask Our Heavenly Father for further revelation as to whether or not we got the context right for binding and loosing. The referenced links above provide a great deal to consider and understand. May the Lord add a blessing to the searching of His Word.

Leave a Reply

