By The Renewing of My Mind

I am so grateful that I’ve learned to discipline my thoughts. I notice the level of anxiety that results in those who do not decide which thoughts they will have. It has not always been so. For years I read the scriptural command in the King James Version of Philippians 4:8 as pure poetry.

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is fair, whatever is pure, whatever is acceptable, whatever is commendable, if there is anything of excellence and if there is anything praiseworthy-keep thinking about these things. (ISV)

Though I was raised to be a metaphysician who stands porter at the door of thought, admitting only such thoughts as I would have manifest, I never quite realized just how much power and freedom were mine as a result of taking the practice seriously and implementing it consistently. Having in recent years asked Heavenly Father to teach me how to pray and received instruction on how to be an intercessor, it is only now that it seems like the most natural and only truly rational response to life’s challenges – mine, yours, ours.

Several messages this week reminded me of the importance of living under the influence of a mind transformed by that of Christ Jesus’ and now, I find myself encouraging others to speak those things that are not as if they were. And at least two people have given thanks for the peace they experience when disciplining their thoughts similarly. Thank you, Lord. Selah.

Leave a Reply

