Preparing For the Best

Today’s devotional at My Utmost for His Highest inspires this question: What does it take to “maintain an attitude of perfect trust and an eagerness to ask and to seek” God? It is easier to know the answer than to live it even when there is abundant evidence that it is not only the best option but the only true option. I was given a powerful object lesson today when, instead of urging my husband to a specific action, I sat quietly beside him, smiling broadly and genuinely (this detail surprised even me, Holy Ghost), and shared the first scripture that came to mind. After the initial consternation subsided, the floodgates of love it unleashed were the first of their kind I’d ever witnessed.

I was so inspired by this outcome that I tried a similar approach to offering my niece the consequences of her failure to complete the tasks agreed upon the night before and left her smiling as well. This holy boldness saved us all the anxiety and ill-feeling that would likely result from our former method of dealing with differences of opinion. Prayers are always answered – not necessarily in the ways we expect and so we often miss the gift answered prayer is intended to bring. I’m so grateful I was paying attention.

The following was excerpted from a wonderful email currently making the rounds:

My obligations, my fear, my pride, my circumstances – they all become disabilities when I do not trust them to God’s care.

Leave a Reply

