A Promise Is A Promise

I got as far as posting grades for one Reading Journal, the Background Research Discussion area and answering email before picking up M’Dear in the Retention Center where her village of mothers were taking tender care of her while I worked. They indulged her with ice cream and other unconfessed delights but agreed that even one candy from the twins’ birthday piñata yesterday would be too much for an after dinner snack. So, for dessert, she selected an orange, and we left the 2 for $5 ice cream purchased for Sunday’s BBQ to its own devices. I thoroughly enjoyed preparing dinner, doing laundry and walking to the garbage compactor with her in one hand and Pepper in the other.

All in all, it was a perfect day, from rejoicing when God spared our lives at the intersection en route to work, and this verse came to me as Holy Spirit held my hand steady on the wheel and foot on the brake so I wouldn’t flinch into traffic on the right as the delivery man skidded in sideways on our left, taking out the divided road sign and scuttling onto the divider fewer than six inches away from us in the left turning lane.

Because you trusted me, I will give you your life as a reward. I will rescue you and keep you safe. I, the LORD, have spoken! (Jeremiah 38:18 NIV)

To the conversation just ended in which Holy Spirit was with my mouth and kept me praying and praising without ceasing whether I understood entirely what was being said or left unsaid, or not. Taken together and apart,  it is well with my soul.

Leave a Reply

