Then What?

I sat across from her taking in every gesture, every detail of this creature whom God had elected to share with me for the summer. It was humbling and all I could do to keep from bawling was to look away from time to time to balance my attention using the decor of The Roasted Bean Café as we snacked before the show. I was awed by the challenge of moving from theoretical parent to practical. I considered the difficulty of either giving or withholding too little or too much – the consequences of each seem to leave the child in the same predicament of having to make considered choices of her own. Just as we had won the cosmic lottery and pulled two tickets to tonight’s show, and had decided to attend, now we were faced with the decisions that follow, hour by hour, of having had our invitation to join us for the summer accepted by my niece. So, you’ve got tickets to the show. Now what?

Leave a Reply

