Conscientization

Grading the Exit Exams it occurred to me, more insistently than ever before, that someone else should know my students’ stories. Someone else should know what today’s college students are negotiating in their lives while they’re trying to juggle coursework and careers. Someone besides me should care. So I got my ducks in a row between preparing their appreciations and end of semester slideshow, gathering things for each section’s potluck and grading the exams so I could give them back with an indication of whether each person passed, and put at the top of their grade summary for their ePortfolio presentations, a fill in the blank with check boxes asking permission to publish their work. Most, if not all but one, agreed. May I follow through with these intentions to honor them as they in their efforts large or small have honored me and this tradition of higher learning.

Leave a Reply

