Writing As A Surgical Procedure

While on hold for T-Mobile, I went online during an episode of Benny Hill borrowed from the library to write simply this: Imagine a picture of a sheet of paper and a writing instrument. I am holding them up in front of my classes on the first day of the semester. This, I say, is an operating room and the idea that has been entrusted to you is counting on being viable once you’ve finished doing what you do with it as wordsmith. Please don’t turn it into a crime scene.

A very little bit of English professor humor. I don’t think it will work half as well as it played in y head on the way home but I thought it deserved an audience.

Leave a Reply

