Quickening In Progress

One might think it strange that during today’s praise and worship someone not unknown to me left her seat in a pew somewhere in front of me and I felt compelled to follow her to ask her about the concern that appeared to be etched across her face. As I left the sanctuary, I asked an usher if she had seen the direction the sister I described had taken. An attendant at the information booth affirmed that such a one had not passed to the right and so I went left to check the bathroom.

When I entered, a new mother was just being faced with the challenge of rinsing and wiping soapy hands with her newborn in her arms. I offered, and she accepted, placing the slight bundle of blessedness in my arms. Returning the wee lass a moment later, I checked the stalls to find no one there. As I turned to leave, another sister was behind me asking for my contact information so I might help her husband with his first assignment in the doctoral program. I gave her my email and phone number and left the bathroom once again aware how mysterious are the Lord’s ways.

It often happens that what we think is not quite what is going on or intended yet it is always within God’s plan and purpose for us, no matter what the enemy has in store. The challenge is to remember that the enemy has already done his worst and failed at the very Cross at Calvary. This was confirmed when Jesus rose on the third day with all power in His hands – the same power He has given us.

Leave a Reply

