Cashmere Clouds

At a dinner party at a colleague’s home this evening, and after dessert while kicking around titles for a course in immigrant literature I’ll be offering this summer, our host used words that shot steel through my back. Spoken by StaceyAnn Chin and others, and not intended to do harm, they would not stop searing through me. I will not repeat them here, but I asked for erasing words when the tears allowed. Liberating laughter and cashmere clouds were offered. They did the trick.

“If there be any virtue, if there be any praise, think on these things” (Philippians 4:8).

My only concern is that the new friend who uttered them not think me unfit somehow. Instant release is the only way I can carry the load of knowing such words impose.

Leave a Reply

