Can It Be Possible?

Was it just yesterday that I was at Auntie’s and today, lives and worlds away, I am home again? Travel is more than movement across or through cultures and time zones. It is movement through psychological spaces shared. This makes all the difference. When one truly travels one faces a paradox: Everything and nothing changes. One receives new eyes for having ventured forth yet they remain anchored in or compromised by previous paradigms and perspectives. For this reason I turn to poetry. It provides soul-heart-living-being bridges between unbridgeable experiences, meanings, places.

So glad I remembered I wanted So Much Things to Say before I left the airport. So glad the store where I enquired had the 10th anniversary edition, albeit for $10 US more than I would have been expected to donate to so great a cause as the Calabash Literary Festival – even from Amazon – with shipping and handling. I’ve wanted to attend it for five years running now. And now, it is no more – at least the way it was…

Leave a Reply

