Marriage: God’s Gym

Sometimes you’re the boxer, sometimes you’re the mat. Keep looking up. Things will be different.

Yesterday’s Solo Remix asked a provocative question: Under what circumstances am I most prone to forget who God is and what He’s done for me? At first I considered my response when someone cuts me off on the freeway. Not pretty. But when I prayed about it, the cursing subsided noticeably. Then, I revisited times when in the classroom, students seemed to flounce in and sit on my last nerve as if it were reserved seating. But comparing frequency and passion of all these incidents, nothing can get me off my dot faster and more perilously than coming to loggerheads with my husband. Sad, but true. The one I committed to love and cherish is the one I most often use as a pin cushion – that is when he’s not taking his turns at same.

I found encouraging, if worldly, advice this evening while searching a beloved website, TED. Here’s what Phillip Zimbarto said when asked how to keep love alive:

Remembering and enacting the song: “I love you more today than yesterday, but not as much as tomorrow.” Say each day, “l love you.” Do something that makes the object of love feel special, wanted, and desired. Put Post-its around with hearts and your initials and that of your loved one. If it is romantic love, work at making love as often as possible and with as much sensuous pleasure as possible. Don’t have sex when you are tired, overfed or drunk or bored; just go to sleep and do it the next day.

Some days, I don’t know which set of to-do / to-don’t lists present the greater challenge, Zimbarto’s or Paul’s in 1 Corinthians 13.

Leave a Reply

